RSS

B for Books

05 May

 

My Idea of Paradise

My Idea of Paradise

I was introduced to reading story books by my mum at a very early age. I remember her telling me stories in bed from a giant picture book we had. I was fascinated and utterly lost in the fantasy world of the Disney characters.Slowly she started reading stories from Eniyd Blyton and I was hooked. She used to tell me just a little part and creating a huge curiosity and suspense and then pretend that she had some work so couldn’t tell the rest of the story and I was just  the option of reading it myself to know what happens next. Thus I got caught in the world of books. I loved reading and my parents encouraged it.I remember having the biggest personal library of story book in the whole school and my parents after sometime rationed by new books supply.

f33f7eec6a6be802fd15634532e2a710

I devoured books like a bookworm and when anyone asked me what present I wanted I always had a list of books ready.I was a fast reader and took pride in keeping my books neatly organised.I got many pass it ons from my cousins who got it from his cousins. But I was always hungry for more.

Books were my escape. They took me to the bustling cities , beautiful country sides , scorching deserts and peaceful beaches. I travelled through time and lived with kings and queens or sometimes visited the spaceships of the future.It was thrilling , fascinating and utterly addicting.

f124bd616797ab996e019be29d07469b

I read all kinds of genres but thriller novels are my favourites. The authors whose books I love are Sidney Sheldon( most well written thrillers), James Hadley Chase ( suspense novels at their best), Khaled Hosseni ( his books touch you, move you), Chetan Bhagat ( for his simplicity in writing ), Diane Chamberlain ( I recently discovered her books and now I wonder what took me so long to find such a treasure), Michelle Moran (beautiful historical fiction).I am a big fan of trilogies and book series. Some of my favourites are The Harry Potter series, Twilight saga ( yea I am a mush), Hunger Games series, Immortals of Mehula series and the latest on my topmost favourites is A song of fire and Ice Series by George R Martin.

After moving to Mumbai I hardly had space to accommodate my vast library so I brought a few of my favourites and subscribed to a library for the latest ones.But then about a couple of years back I got a kindle and my joy knew no bounds. I could have as many books as I wanted and with no worry of where to store them.I could read books easily while travelling and it’s so easy to buy the latest book on kindle. You can browse through millions of books and if you like anything and buy it it’s there on your kindle in a minute. Happiness.

f82db15af3c293f11a5e3f17a3d83a02

I don’t go to the bookstores so often now as I do all my book shopping online now. But I miss the experience of going to a bookstore ,the feeling of being surrounded by hundreds of books, the feeling you get while touching a new books pages … Ahhh the bliss !!!

Writing this post has reminded me how much I miss the bookstore and I must go there sometime soon just to bask in the radiance of so many books…

Books are one of the most essential things in my life.Its not just liking ;I need them for I feel the most alive and awake when I am reading.

So here’s wishing all the book readers and book lovers like me a lifetime supply of good books to read and ample time to enjoy them !!!

46fc4fe4633f34bebec85aa49048d9b6

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 5, 2014 in A-Z

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “B for Books

  1. Jeyna Grace

    May 5, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Yes! I wish I had more time to enjoy them.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
