RSS

4 Things I Learnt from my Dog

25 Jan
 
Love  Unconditionally
 
Dogs are the most friendly,loving ,loyal creatures in the entire world.They heal us with their power of unconditional love.Their soulful eyes empathize when we are sad, the cheerful playfulness lifts our spirit ,their loyalty gives us security and comfort that no human can.No matter how much you mess up your life, how much wrong you do, regardless how you look, your social standing your dog will always love you.
 
My Bryan made me feel loved and wanted the way no other human could. He could easily out do any human I know in his ability to forgive and forget. It’s something one can learn from dogs.They have this infinite capacity to love.
 
Welcome Someone Happily
 
No one can say ‘Welcome back home ‘ the way my Bryan did. No matter what a horrible day I had ; when I came back home his happy barks and vigorous wagging of tail instantly put a smile on my face.When the door bell used to ring he ran to the front door whenever he was.He might be sleeping but that didn’t stop him from rushing to welcome someone home as I’d he hasn’t seen that person for a million years.I actually used to love coming back home to him.His happy welcome made me feel wanted like nothing else could.He made sure that I knew that he was waiting for me and he is glad that I am back.
 
I try to do the same ( No, not the wagging and barking) to welcome people home.I try my best to smile and welcome people home no matter how tired I am.Greeting people at the door and welcoming them home is one of those things I do naturally.H often says that he looks forward to coming home after a stressful day because he knows he will be welcomed home with a smile and a big hug. I love to be welcomed home myself. I somehow dont like opening the door myself though I might have the keys.Now that Bryan is no more I don’t get that waggy welcomes but H makes an effort to get up ,open the door and greet me whenever I ring the door bell and I reward him with a dazzling smile .
 
Listen
 
Don’t you get this amazing feeling when you talk to your dog and he cocks his head and listens earnestly? I did and I loved having Bryan to listen to what I had to say. I knew he didn’t understand the words I said but he knew the feelings behind those words and that was enough. He licked me when he saw my tears , snuggled up when he felt I was upset , didn’t  leave my side when I was scared.Sometimes you don’t need advice or opinions.All you want is someone to be there to hold your hand and listen to you.Bryan taught me to be a good listener and how sometimes just listening can give someone a lot of relief.
Lot of people tell me things that they otherwise wouldn’t tell anybody and they say its because I am a good listener.This has come to me naturally because of all those years when I felt good after talking to Bryan.He just sat there not judging,not advising not giving any opinions …just being there to make me feel that I am not alone. I realized what a wonderful thing it is to be able to it for somebody.
 
Protect your loved ones
 
I remember once my tiny little dog went against a pack of vicious street dogs just to protect me. He got bitten and hurt but he put himself in danger without a second thought without even thinking of the consequences.I had to actually rescue him from the dogs but that doesn’t lessen his bravery and it makes me immensely proud. He didn’t think of his size or the risks.He just put himself in the harms way so as to protect me. And that’s how it should be. 
I am fiercely protective about my loved ones.I guess it’s one of those things I have learnt from Bryan.Sometimes H scolds me saying that I am over protective but that’s how I am .When I sense there is any threat to my loved ones there is no logic or reason that stops me from doing whatever I can to protect them.
 
Image
 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in My take

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “4 Things I Learnt from my Dog

  1. Nomad

    January 25, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    A beautiful post that is a beautiful tribute to a beautiful dog 🙂

    Like

     
    • emotionalsalad

      January 26, 2013 at 2:11 am

      Thank you … He surely was precious..I miss him every single day…

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
