RSS

Sachin?God?

05 Apr

Yesterday by the time I got home my Husband was busy watching the first IPL match of the season. With his eyes glued to TV, he had no time to listen to my chatter. That itself annoyed me and my irritation was diverted to cricket. But then as usual I had no choice (I can’t help smiling when he makes that cute puppy doggy face to ‘patao’ me) I sat down beside him reading a book. I tried to give him company while blending in the background so as not to display my serious ignorance about the cricketing world.

After some time I heard the commentators repetitively say that the God of cricket is doing this, He is doing that. For an Indian like me who has grown up with people who worship cricket it was obvious that they were talking about Sachin Tendulkar. Somehow him being called God bothered me. No, not because I deny that he’s super awesome at his game.I am just against a human being being elevated to the level of God.

I believe that a human being is just a human being.He can be great at his work,kind or even the most amazing person in existence but not God.God, for me is a power ,more powerful than anything imaginable.Its a title that can never be taken by mortal stuck in the cycle of life and death.

I know ,here in India people worship cricket but is that fair? I mean even for cricketers…doesn’t the excessive pressure affect their game? When a sportsman is doing great he gets hyped up so much that either he starts thinking too much about himself or he gets bowed down by the pressure of expectations.But when he is down ,the so called fans just desert him.The whole thing seems so fake. That’s probably one of the reasons why I don’t follow cricket.

A respect worthy person , great at his work can be called a supreme ruler,king or an emperor or anything but not God.There is just one God.Let him be…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in My take

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Sachin?God?

  1. PensiveTams

    April 12, 2012 at 4:00 am

    This post really did surprise me cos I’ve felt the same way. I am someone who dislikes the creations being equated with the Creator. Nice read, Ana.

    Like

     
    • emotionalsalad

      April 12, 2012 at 4:23 am

      Thank you for reading my post …I am glad that someone else also thinks the way I do about this ..because I come from a family where cricket is seriously worshipped..and such comments of mine are rewarded with some real nasty stares.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
